GERMAN VERSION    
zur Startseite
FILMCREDITSTEAMPICSTRAILERCONTACTFACTSLINKS

Genetic engineering in agriculture
Superfluity and starvation
Industrialisation and agriculture
Subsidised injustice
The long road from the field to the table
Additional Reading


"All the market’s interested in is the price.
Taste is not really a consideration
."

Hannes Schulz, poultry breeder

The industrialisation of agriculture in Europe which started on a large scale after the end of the Second World War and has spread massively ever since has not only led to considerable changes in the landscape but has above all completely upset the balance of nature in many places: wetlands have been drained, tracts of land razed and levelled so that they can be worked with huge machines, gigantic irrigation systems have been created, more and more environmental toxins applied for fertilisation and pest control, new breeds and strains developed of which a small number now replace the wide variety that used to flourish. The consequences: loss of diversity in habitats and species, the dwindling of ground water supplies and the contamination of soils, rivers and living organisms. Industrialised agriculture is responsible for almost 10% of the greenhouse gas emissions produced in the EU.

The driving force behind this development for the past 50 years has been the agricultural policies of the EU. The agriculture budget amounts to around half of the total EU budget - around 47 billion euros a year. Initially subsidies were linked to yield levels – the more farmers produced, the more financial support they received from the EU – while in the past few years farmers have received payments according to the area of land they cultivated or the numbers of livestock they held. Both systems exclusively reward increases in production, intensification and the trend towards ever larger farms. What falls by the wayside are not only the environment and health safeguards but also the diversity and quality of our food.

An ever-diminishing number of agribusiness concerns are cultivating ever larger areas. Between 1975 and 1995 more than 1.4 million farms went out of business in Europe. The most badly affected countries are Italy, Spain, Portugal and France - in these four countries the number of people employed in agriculture shrank by at least a third between 1987 and 1997.

Between 1990 and 1995 the number of farms going out of business as a result of overly aged farmers many of whom had reached retirement or were given a grant-in-aid for giving up their economic activity, rose with increasing rapidity. During this period, when Europe had twelve nation members, over a million farmers went out of business – which amounts to more than 550 farms closing down every day! This trend has continued since 1995.

Since 2003 subsidies have been contingent on the fulfilment of conditions in respect of environmental protection, food safety, health of livestock and plants as well as treatment of animals – albeit to a far too small degree in the concerted opinion of environmental and consumer protection organisations.

LINKS:
www.wwf.org.uk
www.foeeurope.org
europa.eu.int
www.global2000.at

 
Imprint filmstransiallegrofilmFILMLaden

ENGLISH VERSION SCHULVORSTELLUNG  
zur Startseite
FILMCREDITSTEAMPICSTRAILERCONTACTFACTSLINKS

Gentechnick in der Landwirtschaft
Leben im Überfluss und Hunger in der Welt
Industrialisierung der Landwirtschaft
Subventionierte Ungerechtigkeit
Der lange Weg vom Feld zum Teller
Literatur


"An sich interessiert den Handel der Preis. Der Geschmack, eigentlich, ist kein Kriterium."
Hannes Schulz, Geflügelzüchter

Die nach dem Ende des zweiten Weltkrieges im großen Stil einsetzende und seither immens zunehmende Industrialisierung der Landwirtschaft in Europa hat nicht nur zu erheblichen Veränderungen im Landschaftsbild geführt, sondern vor allem vielerorts auch den Naturhaushalt durcheinander gebracht: Feuchtgebiete wurden trocken gelegt, Landstriche geschliffen und eingeebnet, um sie mit großen Maschinen bewirtschaften zu können, gigantische Bewässerungssysteme geschaffen, immer mehr Umweltgifte zwecks Düngung und Schädlingsbekämpfung eingebracht, neue Sorten und Rassen entwickelt, von denen einige wenige heute die frühere Vielfalt ersetzen. Die Folgen: der Verlust an Vielfalt von Lebensräumen und Arten, das Schrumpfen der Grundwasservorräte und die Vergiftung von Böden, Gewässern und Lebewesen. Die industrialisierte Landwirtschaft ist für fast 10% der von der EU verursachten Treibhausgase verantwortlich.

Wesentliche treibende Kraft dieser Entwicklung ist seit 50 Jahren die Agrarpolitik der EU. Das Agrarbudget macht rund die Hälfte des EU-Haushaltes aus - ca. 47 Milliarden Euro pro Jahr. War anfangs die Förderung noch an den Ertrag gekoppelt - je mehr ein Bauer produzierte, desto mehr Unterstützung aus EU-Geldern - so gab es in den letzten Jahren desto mehr Geld, je mehr Fläche ein Bauer bewirtschaftete beziehungsweise je mehr Vieh er hielt. Beide Systeme belohnen einseitig Produktionssteigerungen, Intensivierungen und den Trend zu immer größeren Betrieben. Auf der Strecke bleiben dabei nicht nur Umwelt und Gesundheitsschutz, sondern auch die Vielfalt und Qualität der Nahrungsmittel.

Eine immer kleiner werdende Zahl landwirtschaftlicher Betriebe bewirtschaften immer größere Flächen. Im Zeitraum 1975 bis 1995 sind mehr als 1,4 Millionen landwirtschaftliche Betriebe in Europa aufgegeben worden. Am meisten betroffen sind Italien, Spanien, Portugal und Frankreich - in diesen vier Ländern ist die Anzahl von Beschäftigen in der Landwirtschaft allein zwischen 1987 und 1997 um mindestens ein Drittel geschrumpft.

Zwischen 1990 und 1995 stieg die Zahl der Betriebsaufgaben aufgrund der Überalterung der Landwirte, von denen viele das Rentenalter erreichten oder eine Beihilfe für die Aufgabe ihrer Tätigkeit erhielten, immer schneller an. Im besagten Zeitraum gaben im Europa der Zwölf über eine Million Landwirte ihre Tätigkeit auf, das entspricht mehr als 550 Betriebsaufgaben pro Tag! Diese Tendenz setzte sich seit 1995 fort.

Seit 2003 wird die Prämienzahlung auch an die Erfüllung von Auflagen in den Bereichen Umweltschutz, Lebensmittelsicherheit, Gesundheit von Tieren und Pflanzen sowie Tierschutz gebunden - allerdings noch viel zu wenig, sind sich Umwelt- und Konsumentenschutzorganisationen einig.

QUELLEN UND WEITERFÜHRENDE LINKS:
www.wwf.org.uk
www.foeeurope.org
europa.eu.int
www.global2000.at

 
Impressum allegrofilmFILMLaden