GERMAN VERSION    
zur Startseite
FILMCREDITSTEAMPICSTRAILERCONTACTFACTSLINKS

Genetic engineering in agriculture
Superfluity and starvation
Industrialisation and agriculture
Subsidised injustice
The long road from the field to the table
Additional Reading


"If you go to the market in Senegal you can buy European produce for a third of the local prices. So the Senegalese peasant farmer no longer has any chance of earning a living."
Jean Ziegler, UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food

In 2004 the OECD states subsidised their agriculture to the tune of 226 billion euros. However, within the OECD there are considerable differences: at the lower end of the scale are Australia and New Zealand, who subsidise their farmers at less than 5%, while at the upper end are Iceland, Norway and Switzerland who subsidise at more than 70%. At 34%, the EU lies at slightly above the average of 30%.

A large part of these subsidies are export subsidies: they help to sell on the world market superfluous agricultural products which cannot be sold on domestic markets. This artificial price reduction depresses world market prices, thus making agriculture in many other parts of the world unprofitable. Even the conservative calculations of the World Bank assume that agricultural subsidies in the rich nations deprive farmers in poor countries of a market of at least 30 billion dollars. At the same time, the World Bank states that – as absurd as this sounds at first – if the subsidies were to be abolished this would benefit the agricultural sector to the tune of 250 billion dollars, albeit with a more just distribution: countries with low and medium incomes would profit the most at around 150 billion dollars.

While in rich countries like those of the OECD only around 5% of the working population are employed in agriculture and it only contributes 2% to the gross domestic product, in developing countries it amounts to an average of 36% of GDP and employs around 70% of the working population. The current FAO report entitled “The State of Agricultural Commodity Markets” emphasises that around 2.5 billion people in the developing countries are directly dependent on agriculture and thus most at risk from fluctuating and declining food prices.

LINKS:
www.fao.org
www.oecd.org
www.globalpolicy.org
www.wupperinst.org
www.oxfam.org
www.weed-online.org
www.panda.org
www.foe.org

 
Imprint filmstransiallegrofilmFILMLaden

ENGLISH VERSION SCHULVORSTELLUNG  
zur Startseite
FILMCREDITSTEAMPICSTRAILERCONTACTFACTSLINKS

Gentechnick in der Landwirtschaft
Leben im Überfluss und Hunger in der Welt
Industrialisierung der Landwirtschaft
Subventionierte Ungerechtigkeit
Der lange Weg vom Feld zum Teller
Literatur


"Wenn Sie im Senegal auf den Markt gehen, können Sie europäische Früchte zu einem Drittel der einheimischen Preise kaufen. Also hat der senegalesische Bauer keine Chance mehr, das Auskommen zu finden."
Jean Ziegler, UN-Sonderberichterstatter für das Menschenrecht auf Nahrung

2004 haben die OECD-Staaten ihre Landwirtschaft mit 226 Milliarden Euro gestützt. Innerhalb der OECD gibt es aber erhebliche Unterschiede: am unteren Ende liegen Australien und Neuseeland, die ihre Bauern mit weniger als 5% stützen, am oberen Ende Island, Norwegen und die Schweiz mit mehr als 70%. Die EU liegt mit 34% etwas über dem Durchschnitt von 30%.

Ein Gutteil dieser Förderungen sind Exportsubventionen: sie helfen, überschüssige Agrarerzeugnisse, die auf den Inlandsmärkten nicht abzusetzen sind, auf den Weltmarkt zu verkaufen. Diese künstliche Verbilligung drückt die Weltmarktpreise und macht so die Landwirtschaft in vielen anderen Teilen der Welt unrentabel. Selbst die konservativ angesetzten Berechnungen der Weltbank gehen davon aus, dass die landwirtschaftlichen Förderungen in den reichen Nationen den Bauern in armen Ländern einen Markt von mindestens 30 Milliarden Dollar nehmen. Gleichzeitig stellt die Weltbank fest, dass - so absurd das im ersten Moment klingt - eine Streichung der Subventionen dem Landwirtschaftssektor 250 Milliarden Dollar bringen würde. Allerdings mit einer gerechteren Verteilung: Länder mit geringem und mittlerem Einkommen würden mit rund 150 Milliarden am meisten profitieren.

Während in reichen Ländern wie jenen der OECD die Landwirtschaft nur rund 5% der Beschäftigung ausmacht und nur 2% zum Bruttoinlandsprodukt beiträgt, macht die Landwirtschaft in den Entwicklungsländern einen durchschnittlichen Anteil von 36% am BIP aus und beschäftigt etwa 70% der Arbeitskräfte. Der aktuelle Report "The State of Agricultural Commidity Markets" der Welternährungsorganisation FAO unterstreicht, dass rund 2,5 Milliarden Menschen in den Entwicklungsländern unmittelbar von der Landwirtschaft abhängig und am meisten von schwankenden und sinkenden Lebensmittelpreisen betroffen sind.

QUELLEN UND WEITERFÜHRENDE LINKS:
www.fao.org
www.oecd.org
www.globalpolicy.org
www.wupperinst.org
www.oxfam.org
www.weed-online.org
www.panda.org
www.foe.org

 
Impressum allegrofilmFILMLaden