GERMAN VERSION    
zur Startseite
FILMCREDITSTEAMPICSTRAILERCONTACTFACTSLINKS

Genetic engineering in agriculture
Superfluity and starvation
Industrialisation and agriculture
Subsidised injustice
The long road from the field to the table
Additional Reading


"These trucks are all full of soya. They pick up their loads in the north of Mato Grosso. From there the soya is transported 2,500 kilometres to port. And from there the soya is exported."
Vincent José Puhl, , biologist (Brazil)

The crazy logic of long-distance transportation of foodstuffs has become common knowledge above all through the focus on live animal transports across the continent as also from seemingly curious examples such as German potatoes being transported to Poland to be washed before being transported back again to be sold in Germany. Analysis carried out by the ÖAMTC Academy in 1997 revealed that even a classic Viennese breakfast with all the ingredients – bread rolls, ham, cheese, milk, sugar, eggs, yoghurt and breakfast drinks – sourced in Austria is the result of at least 5,000 kilometres on the road. If you give yourself the additional treat of a kiwi fruit from New Zealand, you can add a further 1,250 kilometres to that total – and that’s after 20,000 kilometres on a freighter. In 2002 transport stream analysis of the Austrian foodstuff value creation chain revealed that the road from field to table is becoming ever longer. In the last 30 years the transport output of the chain as a whole has risen by 125%.

Hidden behind this development, where food products that have travelled thousands of kilometres are often cheaper than regional products, are cheap labour and state subsidies of both production and transport. All of that impacts negatively on people – beginning with the often exploitative conditions in the places of production and in freight transport, including huge negative impacts on people who live on the transit routes, to health risks for the consumers of foodstuffs which can often only be made fit for these long journeys with the aid of chemicals.

The environment also suffers: from the direct impact of pollutants on the one hand and high energy use and its concomitant contribution to climate change on the other. For example, a kilo of strawberries flown in from Israel costs almost five litres of petroleum oil before it reaches the supermarket shelf as compared with a kilo of strawberries from an Austrian farm which uses only 0.2 litres.

But it’s not only our food that comes from all over the world. The days when feedstuffs for Austrian livestock came exclusively from Austrian fields, meadows and Alpine pastures are long gone: in Central and South America around 350,000 hectares of soya are grown for the Austrian livestock industry – that’s the same area of land cultivated in Austria for bread cereals.

LINKS:
www.oeamtc.at
www.klf.at
www.vcoe.at
www.marktcheck.at
www.wwf.ch
Schwarzbuch Straße, Deutike 2003

 
Imprint filmstransiallegrofilmFILMLaden

ENGLISH VERSION SCHULVORSTELLUNG  
zur Startseite
FILMCREDITSTEAMPICSTRAILERCONTACTFACTSLINKS

Gentechnick in der Landwirtschaft
Leben im Überfluss und Hunger in der Welt
Industrialisierung der Landwirtschaft
Subventionierte Ungerechtigkeit
Der lange Weg vom Feld zum Teller
Literatur


"Diese LKWs sind alle voll mit Soja. Sie werden im Norden von Matto Grosso beladen. Von dort wird das Soja 2.500 Kilometer zum Hafen transportiert. Und von dort geht das Soja in den Export."
Vincent José Puhl, Biologe (Brasilien)

Bekannt geworden ist der Transportwahnsinn unserer Lebensmittel vor allem durch die Thematisierung von Tiertransporten quer durch den Kontinent, aber auch durch scheinbare Kuriosa wie das Waschen deutscher Erdäpfel in Polen. Dass auch ein klassisches Frühstück in Wien - mit Gebäck, Schinken, Käse, Milch, Zucker, Eiern, Joghurt und Frühstücks-getränken aus Österreich - mindestens 5.000 Kilometer auf der Straße hinter sich hat, ergab eine Untersuchung der ÖAMTC-Akademie 1997. Gönnt man sich dazu eine Kiwi aus Neuseeland, kommen - nach 20.000 Kilometern auf dem Schiff - weitere 1.250 Straßenkilometer dazu. Und 2002 zeigte auch eine erstmalige Transportstromanalyse der österreichischen Lebensmittelwertschöpfungskette im Rahmen der Kulturlandschafts-forschung: der Weg vom Feld zum Teller wird immer weiter. In den letzten 30 Jahren ist die Transportleistung der gesamten Kette um 125% gestiegen.

Hinter der Entwicklung, dass Lebensmittel, die Tausende Kilometer weit gereist sind, oft billiger sind als regionale Produkte, stecken billige Arbeitskräfte und staatliche Subventionen sowohl in der Produktion als auch im Transport. Das alles geht zu Lasten von Menschen - beginnend mit oftmals ausbeuterischen Verhältnissen in den Produktionsstätten und im Frachtgewerbe, über massive Belastungen für die AnrainerInnen von Transitrouten bis hin zu gesundheitlichen Risiken für KonsumentInnen von Lebensmitteln, die oft nur mithilfe von Chemie fit für die langen Wege gemacht werden können.

Es leidet aber auch die Umwelt: durch unmittelbare Schadstoffbelastungen einerseits, andererseits durch den hohen Energieaufwand und den damit verbundenen Beitrag zum Klimawandel. So verbraucht etwa ein Kilo Erdbeeren, eingeflogen aus Israel, fast fünf Liter Erdöl, ein Kilo Erdbeeren vom heimischen Feld nur 0,2 Liter bis zum Supermarkt.

Aber nicht nur, was wir selber essen, kommt aus aller Welt. Auch die Futtermittel für unser Vieh stammen längst nicht mehr nur von heimischen Feldern, Wiesen und Almen: auf rund 350.000 Hektar vor allem in Mittel- und Südamerika werden Sojabohnen für die österreichische Viehwirtschaft angebaut, das ist ebenso viel Fläche wie wir bei uns mit Brotgetreide bestellen.

QUELLEN UND WEITERFÜHRENDE LINKS:
www.oeamtc.at
www.klf.at
www.vcoe.at
www.marktcheck.at
www.wwf.ch
Schwarzbuch Straße, Deutike 2003

 
Impressum allegrofilmFILMLaden